Agenda Item
Meeting Date:
1/26/2017 - 6:30 PM  
Consideration and Possible Action Item (s)  
Finalizing Members of the District of Innovation (DOI) Advisory Committee and First Meeting Date  
District Goals:
Goal 1
Student Achievement for All
Goal 2
Safe, Secure and Nurturing Schools
Goal 3
Parent and Community Partnerships
Goal 4
Quality Workforce in a Positive Environment
Goal 5
Effective and Efficient Use of Resources
District of Innovation Nominees  
File Attachment:
DOI Nominees.pdf
House Bill 1842 provides that once the Board of Trustees has completed the Public Hearing and decided to move forward with District as a District of Innovation process the Board must appoint a committee to develop the local innovation plan in accordance with Section 12A.003 of House Bill 1842.

Once the District Advisory Committee develops the Local Innovation Plan the plan will be posted on the district website for thirty days and a public hearing will be held to solicit community feedback. During the thirty day posting period the plan will also be submitted for informational purposes to the Commissioner of Education. Following the public hearing the District Advisory Committee will vote on the plan. If approved by a majority vote the plan will then go to the Board. The proposed plan may be adopted ‘as is’ by an affirmative vote of two-thirds majority of the Board of Trustees.

The proposed committee is made up a diverse group of parents, community members, and school personnel submitted by Trustees and reviewed by Mr. Ryan Ray and Mr. Gary Grassia.
Budgetary Impact:
Recommend action representing Board consensus.  
Recommended By:
Signed By:
Anthony Kirchner - Executive Director of Communications and Marketing
Signed By:  
Dan Powell - Superintendent
Vote Results:

Original Motion
Member Ryan Ray Moved, Member Mia Hall seconded to approve the Original motion 'Recommend action representing Board consensus.'. Upon a Roll-Call Vote being taken, the vote was: Aye: 6 Nay: 0.
The motion Carried 6 - 0
June Davis     Yes
Ryan Ray     Yes
Thedrick Franklin     Yes
Mia Hall     Yes
Gary Grassia     Yes
Lyndsae Benton     Yes